Power To Speak Up

I am so excited to share with you the reason why I titled this blog post Power to Speak Up.

I have always said that Proverbs ended in a bang with Chapter 31. One specific verse that is so dear to my heart is verse 8. 

The King James Version (KJV) reads, “Open thy mouth for the dumb in the cause of all such as are appointed to destruction.” The New English Version (NIV) reads, “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute.”

Some Bible translations replace the word “dumb” for “mute” and “destitute” for “unfortunate”.  In Biblical times, the word “mute” is defined as an individual who was unable to speak or disabled. The word “destitute” in that verse signifies a person who has very little and may not have the authority to speak because of his or her station in life. 

I often thought, how difficult it must have been for a person who was physically challenged to communicate. Maybe when they spoke, it was not understandable. Taking it a step further, maybe this person could speak, but could not due to their station in life.  Were they often misunderstood or shunned away from the general population? The truth of the matter is this, even if we are physically able to, we often times do not speak. Many times in my life, I have wanted to say something, but chose not to. Whether it was because I was not brave enough, or plainly shy, we all can attest to having been there at one time or another. In my life, I have always been very private about my personal life. I was reared to believe that personal is personal. Because of this, it has taken some time to share my life experiences with people. Sharing life experiences, especially with those who want to glean from those experiences, is so powerful. Who would have loved for someone to pour into them when they were at a life altering moment of decision in their early years of life? I sure would have loved that, and so the story begins here today. 

Speaking is a power tool that I want to exercise more and more starting now.

My name is Paula Villarreal, and I am gonna be honest. Life is tough. Life can bring some turbulent rides and some pretty smooth ones. But when you put your full trust in God, those rides become defining moments that shape you to be the person you were created to be.

I hope this blog opens your eyes to Speak Up. You don’t have to share everything about your life, but maybe just that little part of you that someone needs to know – that little bit that may bless others in the process called life. If you have gone through something that has significantly impacted your life, what is to say that God did not bring you through it to share your winning moments with others in an attempt to give them hope. 

So for this first blog, I want to keep it simple. I want to say to you, my reader, I am launching this new venture with you. I have the power to speak up now, and I am not looking back. Whether it comes out wrong or right, too little or too much, the important thing is that it comes out! 

Blessings!

6 thoughts on “Power To Speak Up

  1. Very well said Paula! Beautifully said and I’m so incredibly happy and overjoyed for you on this new journey! May the Holy Spirit continue to give you insight to share with others. God bless you and I love you, my friend!

    Like

  2. Loved and enjoyed the read so much. I truly identify as I was reading but what an amazing outcome as we trust the author of our faith. Love you sis and can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment